AIIMS Mangalagiri ATF Medical Officer Recruitment 2026: Two Psychiatry Posts, Email Before Walk-in
The Department of Psychiatry at AIIMS Mangalagiri, Andhra Pradesh, is recruiting two Senior Residents (Medical Officers) for its Addiction Treatment Facility (ATF) under the National Action Plan for Drug Demand Reduction (NAPDDR). The post title includes "Senior Resident", but the appointment is a project-funded, full-time, fixed-term contract, not an offer of permanent AIIMS faculty service or an ordinary hospital-wide residency intake. The current notification is AIIMS/MG/Psychiatry/Project/Recruitment/ATF/2026-27/02.
The decisive practical detail is the two-stage process: an emailed application is due on 7 November 2026 at 5:00 PM IST, ahead of a tentative walk-in document verification/interview on 10 November 2026 (8:00 AM reporting). Attending the interview without meeting the earlier emailed-application requirement is not an alternative submission route.
Verified recruitment snapshot
These are two vacancies for one distinct post profile. There are not two different medical-officer qualifications or two separate recruitment notifications in this advertisement.
Exact eligibility: what is compulsory and what is not
The notice's essential qualification is a postgraduate MD/DNB in Psychiatry from an institution recognised by the National Medical Commission (NMC). The wording offers MD or DNB as alternative routes; it does not demand both degrees. It does not specify any minimum examination percentage or mandatory number of years of prior clinical employment as a separate qualifying threshold. The application form requests experience history, and the notice says experience, wherever claimed or sought, should be acquired after the minimum essential qualification. That instruction does not create an otherwise unstated mandatory two- or three-year experience rule.
Three other qualifications are explicitly desirable, not compulsory: a post-doctoral/fellowship qualification including PDF/DM in Addiction Psychiatry; at least two publications in PubMed-indexed journals; and research experience in mental-health-related projects. These credentials may help an applicant demonstrate a relevant professional profile, but the notice gives no scoring matrix or guaranteed preference weight. An eligible psychiatrist without two indexed papers should not automatically self-reject. Conversely, publications or a psychology-only degree do not substitute for the essential MD/DNB Psychiatry route.
A standalone MBBS, a postgraduate degree in a different medical specialty, MA/MSc Psychology, or a Clinical Psychology qualification is not advertised as an alternative essential qualification for this medical-officer role. The May/June 2025 ATF cycle included a separate counsellor profile; that older opening does not make counsellors eligible under the present notification.
Age calculation is particularly sensitive near the 40-year threshold. The notice expressly says age is assessed on the date of interview, while the 10 November interview is described as tentative. Accordingly, neither the email cutoff of 7 November nor an unconfirmed final interview date should be presented as an irrevocable age-reference date. The document does not publish a numerical SC/ST/OBC/PwBD relaxation schedule for this recruitment. A general selection-committee discretion clause is not an applicant's automatic entitlement to a particular relaxation.
How to apply without confusing the email deadline and walk-in
First, before 5:00 PM IST on 7 November 2026: complete the prescribed application form attached to the current five-page PDF and send the filled form with required supporting-document soft copies to atf@aiimsmangalagiri.edu.in. The October notice supplies this email address; it does not provide a new Google Form or prescribe a compulsory email-subject formula. Do not substitute an old 2025 Google Form, and do not submit only a general CV in place of the prescribed form. A practical precaution is to send readable attachments early enough to resolve an email failure and retain the timestamped sent message; the notice does not guarantee an automated acknowledgment.
Second, for the tentatively scheduled 10 November 2026 in-person stage: report to the Administration Block, AIIMS Mangalagiri by 8:00 AM with the completed prescribed form, original documents and self-attested supporting copies. The notice schedules document verification followed by interview and states that no travel or joining allowance is paid. The interview schedule may change; consult the institute's official recruitment page before travelling. The original notification does not announce a compulsory written test, exam syllabus, admit card release date or interview marks/cutoff.
An internal document-count discrepancy needs attention: instruction 2 on PDF page 2 requires two sets of self-attested supporting copies, whereas the document list on PDF page 5 mentions one set. Both statements appear in the same official notice. Taking two sets is a practical precaution that satisfies the stricter wording, not evidence of a formal corrigendum. Keep original certificates separately accessible for verification.
The application annexure asks for personal/contact details, date of birth, qualification-by-qualification course and passing details, photograph signed across, relevant registration if applicable, past experience, declaration and signature. Its supporting-document list covers a recognised address-proof option, proof of birth date, undergraduate and postgraduate degree certificates, applicable registration and experience certificates. Because the institute warns that incomplete applications may be rejected, match each claim to the supporting document. The notice does not publish a separate fee schedule; absence of a listed fee is not an officially declared zero-fee concession.
What the ATF medical officer actually does
This is neither a generic ward-only doctor assignment nor an advertised coding/AI research job. The current notice lays out a clinical plus public-health service role for substance-use disorders:
- Treatment: assess and diagnose patients, provide initial care and longer-term pharmacotherapy, and refer complex substance-use cases or co-occurring social/health needs to appropriate services.
- Follow-up and records: register new and returning patients, create clinical files, maintain scheme-prescribed records and contribute to periodic programme reports.
- Community interface: undertake community clinics and awareness work, and orient other hospital departments to appropriate ATF referrals.
- Service coordination: assist the ATF nodal officer with day-to-day functioning, medicine-stock record coordination with nursing staff, and accounts liaison with relevant hospital staff.
- Training and service improvement: help train healthcare workers and support quality-improvement/research activity as directed by the nodal officer or Head of Department.
The Government of India's Department of Social Justice and Empowerment identifies hospital-based Addiction Treatment Facilities as one of the delivery channels under NAPDDR. Its stated broader objectives include access to treatment, referral, rehabilitation, capacity building and reducing stigma. This programme context explains why the ATF job combines patient care, documentation, community engagement and training. It is not a substitute for the eligibility clauses, nor does it introduce an undisclosed exam syllabus or additional essential qualifications.
For an applicant choosing between posts, the relevant distinction is whether they want an 11-month addiction-service programme post that combines psychiatry practice with organised outreach and service monitoring, rather than assuming it carries a regular Senior Resident pay matrix or guaranteed long-term promotion pathway.
Pay, duration and exit conditions: financial and career implications
The advertisement states Rs 1,00,000 per month, consolidated. It separately says no other allowance or facilities beyond the consolidated emoluments are admissible. Therefore the advertised amount should not be presented as basic salary plus DA/HRA, a guaranteed in-hand figure after statutory deductions, or an annual remuneration package with extra benefits. The initial appointment is for 11 months from contract commencement and is expressly temporary. Renewal or permanent absorption is not guaranteed.
The ordinary termination wording permits either party to end the appointment with one month's notice; another clause says the appointee may become liable for one month's salary for not observing the notice requirement. A distinct provision allows immediate termination without notice if work/conduct is found unsatisfactory. These are different circumstances, not one blanket promise of a month's severance. The complete contractual terms supplied at appointment should be read before resigning from an existing position. Already employed selected applicants must produce a relieving certificate before joining; plan for the current employer's notice and document timeline accordingly.
The advertisement does not specify a fixed amount of paid leave, guaranteed accommodation, monthly take-home salary, NPS entitlement or permanent cadre seniority. Importing such terms from general AIIMS Senior Residency rules would misrepresent this specific project appointment.
What changed from the separate 2025 ATF recruitment?
The earlier notice was AIIMS/MG/Psychiatry/Project/Recruitment/ATF/2025-26/01; the current one is 2026-27/02. These are separate recruitment cycles. Candidates should not reuse the old application link or assume that the former counsellor/nurse/data-manager vacancies remain open. The historical comparison is based on the respective institute-issued PDFs; it is not a claim that any 2025 terms supersede the newer notice.
Four candidate-specific decisions
1. MD Psychiatry with no indexed publications: the essential degree route is met subject to institutional recognition and other conditions. The two-paper criterion is desirable. Submit a truthful publication history rather than fabricating papers to satisfy a requirement that the notice does not make compulsory.
2. DNB Psychiatry with relevant ATF experience: DNB in Psychiatry is an explicit alternative essential postgraduate qualification. Verify that the institution/degree satisfies the notice's NMC-recognition wording; describe relevant experience accurately, without assigning yourself points the institute has not published.
3. Psychology/counselling qualification without MD/DNB Psychiatry: this October notice advertises no counsellor vacancy. Holding qualifications that would have suited an expired 2025 counsellor profile does not establish eligibility for the two 2026 medical-officer posts.
4. Candidate near age 40 or already employed: age turns on the actual interview date, which may be rescheduled; existing employment creates a relieving-certificate-before-joining requirement. These two practical dependencies may matter more than a generic list of interview tips.
Official documents and practical final checks
Complete the advance email submission before the 7 November deadline and monitor the tentative 10 November interview schedule; keep the exact distinction between mandatory and desirable credentials. The final authority on candidature and schedule changes is the recruiting institution's current notification and later official announcements.